Individual Artist Fellowships

The Individual Artist Fellowship program recognizes exemplary career achievements by Nebraska artists, and provides support through public recognition and monetary awards of $1,000-$5,000. This is a competitive program, in which applicants are adjudicated by a professional panel according to the merit of their work.

The IAF program rotates among three major categories of artistic achievement: Literature (fiction, nonfiction, poetry), Performing Arts (choreography, playwriting, composition, interdisciplinary performance) and Filmmaking, and Visusal Arts (painting/drawing, photography, ceramics, installation, mixed media, printmaking, glass, sculpture, textiles, video).

The Individual Artist Fellowship category for 2016 is Visual Arts.

To qualify, artists must be a resident of Nebraska for two years prior to the application deadline and will be a resident of Nebraska during the fellowship award year. Additionally, the artist must not presently be enrolled in a degree or certificate-granting program in the visual arts.The following were the recipients of the Visual Arts fellowships in 2013:

$5,000 Distinguished Artist Award
Yinghua Zhu, Mixed Media/Installation (Omaha)
Elizabeth Ingraham, Textile/Installation (Lincoln)
Jess Benjamin, Ceramics/Installation (Omaha)

$1,000 Merit Award
Benjamin Darling, Painting/Drawing (Sidney)
Wanda Ewing, Mixed Media (Omaha)
Christina Renfer Vogel, Painting/Drawing (Omaha)
Sheila Talbitzer, Photography (Omaha)
Watie White, Printmaking (Omaha)

Applications are being accepted online via Slide Room.
Deadline to apply is November 15, 2015.

For inquiries about the program, contact Launa Bacon at 402-595-3935.

The following Program Guidelines apply to each of the Artistic Disciplines under review:



Nebraska Arts Council 1004 Farnam Street • Omaha, NE 68102 • Phone (402) 595-2122 • E-mail
Copyright © 2015 Nebraska Arts Council• State Privacy PolicyState Security PolicySite Map