SERVICES > Governor's Arts Awards

2014 Governor's Arts Award Winners

The Nebraska Arts Council congratulates the recipients of the 2014 Governor's Arts Awards. The following Nebraska individuals and organizations received their awards at the Governor's Arts Awards event on March 25, 2014 in LaVista. Click the awardees' names for a complete biography:

Emerging Leader: An individual artist, arts administrator or patron who has made a significant impact on the arts in Nebraska in a short period of time.

Steve Barth & Brian Botsford, Crane River Theater (Kearney) and Andrew Ek & Matt Mason, Nebraska Writers Collective (Omaha)

Excellence in Arts Education: An individual who has made a long term outstanding contribution to arts education in Nebraska.

Patsy Koch Johns (Lincoln)

Heritage Arts: An individual who, or organization that, exemplifies authenticity and excellence within a cultural tradition.

Steve Tamayo (Omaha)

Leonard Thiessen: The Leonard Thiessen Award is named for the founder of the Nebraska Arts Council and is awarded to an individual who, or organization that, typifies the highest degree of commitment to the arts in Nebraska. This is a special recognition presented by the Nebraska Arts Council.

Nebraska State Senator John Nelson (Omaha)

Organizational Achievement: An arts organization that demonstrates achievements at a consistently high level of excellence in programming and outreach.

Lux Center for the Arts (Lincoln) and Norfolk Arts Center (Norfolk)

Outstanding Artist: An individual artist practicing in any discipline whose work or career has made a significant contribution to their art form and to the state of Nebraska.

Carl Beck & Susan Baer Collins (Omaha) and Thomas Wilkins (Omaha)

Thomas C. Woods III Partner in the Arts: An individual, business, school district or community organization that has shown outstanding commitment by its continued support of the arts through time, energy, expertise and/or financial support.

Metropolitan Community College (Omaha)

Return to Governor's Arts Awards >>

Nebraska Arts Council 1004 Farnam Street • Omaha, NE 68102 • Phone (402) 595-2122 • E-mail
Copyright © 2015 Nebraska Arts Council• State Privacy PolicyState Security PolicySite Map