Individual Artist Fellowships

The Individual Artist Fellowship program recognizes exemplary work by Nebraska artists and provides support through public recognition and monetary awards of $1,000-$5,000. Applicants are adjudicated by a professional, out-of-state panel according to the merit of their work. The program rotates annually, highlighting different artistic disciplines each year.

The IAF 2020 cycle is now open!

Please select the appropriate link below for more information and to start your application. Deadline for applications is November 22, 2019







Applicant must be 19 years old or older and a resident of Nebraska for two years prior to the application date and remain a resident of Nebraska during the fellowship award period of one year. To receive an award, the recipient must submit proof of residency via a notarized affidavit of residency, which will be kept on file at the NAC office.

Applicant must not be enrolled in an undergraduate, graduate or certificate-granting program in the artistic field in which the application is being made.

Applicant must be the originator of the work, not an interpreter of the work of others.

All previous fellowship winners are eligible to reapply. Previous winners must have completed their grant award requirement to be eligible, submit work not previously part of an award-winning application and can only apply every three years.

Review Criteria

This is a competitive program based on a professional peer review process. Applicants are adjudicated according to the merit of their work by out-of-state jurors selected for their expertise as established career professionals in the artistic discipline under consideration.

Evaluation criteria are based on the quality of work, which includes innovation demonstrated by significant critical and aesthetic considerations explored through the art form.

For more information, contact: Meagan Dion // 402.595.3935


2019 Individual Artist Fellowship | Visual Art Recipients


Francisco Souto

Aaron Holz

Michael Villarreal


Mary Zicafoose

Ella Weber

Bradley Peters


Sarah Berkeley

Holly Kranker

Rachel Mindrup


Congratulations to the 2019 IAF recipients!